Thirsty Planet Brewery

Saturday afternoon my boyfriend and I attended a brew tour in West Austin, Thirsty Planet. First of all, I would recommend anyone who loves beer to attend as many breweries as possible. It really helps you develop an appreciation for beer. Many people do not ever explore the taste of other craft beers from the normal American beers like Bud Light or Miller light. When I moved to Austin and started to let my taste buds explore different types of beer it changed my outlook for beer completely. Craft beer is so special because people who make it put so much time and effort into it. They have to find the perfect recipe to appease many different people. By going to brewery tours you can donate to the brewery by tasting their beers and it’s very inexpensive to do so.

Image

At Thirsty Planet, I tasted my first beer that was made with peppers. I am not big on spicy food, it actually gives me heartburn, but Thirsty Planet’s Mike Ancho beer is to die for! I encourage anyone who has a taste for peppers to try this beer. It was the most interesting beer I have tasted yet. I would have never thought to mix beer with peppers, and never would have imagined it was send my taste buds to heaven! The way they make the beers that include pepper flavors is by adding the peppers to their most popular beer, the Thirsty Goat Amber Lager, after its fermented for an amount of time. They have several other beers in season right now that were also made with other types of peppers. So for the people who like spicy foods, go check out Thirsty Planet and give them some business while your taste buds enjoy! For those of you who don’t, just trust me and try one of the beers out and see for yourself!

Overall, I am an IPA kind of girl. The more hoppy the beer, the better. Thirsty Planet Bucket Head IPA did not let me down! Advisory Warning: If you are not familiar with IPA’s, they contain one of the highest amounts of alcohol volume, usually from 7% to 9%. This means, that one of these beers is about equivalent to having to Bud Lights. Always remember when going to a brewery to have a designated driver. Even though you’re only getting to taste a few beers, chances are that at least one of them will be of higher alcohol content.

These are a couple of the vessels at the brewery where they let the beer ferment until its able to be consumed.

These are a couple of the vessels at the brewery where they let the beer ferment until its able to be consumed.

They have a nice fancy machine that does the bottling for them. Some craft breweries do not have this luxury.

They have a nice fancy machine that does the bottling for them. Some craft breweries do not have this luxury.

Leave a Reply

